Presidency of the Council [fr]


The presidency of the Council of the European Union (EU) rotates among the EU Member States every six months and the country holding the presidency drives forward the Council’s work. The EU Council is an essential decision maker which together with the European Parliament (EP) adopts legislation and coordinates EU policies.

Presidency is an opportunity for each Member State, regardless of its size or the length of the membership, to influence the EU agenda and guide the EU endeavours. Latvia for the first time is assuming this task from 1 January 2015 to 30 June 2015 taking it over from Italy and afterwards handing over the reins of the presidency to Luxembourg.

more information

publie le 03/02/2015